Cups + Stairs = Danger

My little monster has this fascination with throwing things down the stairs. It started with the remote control for our bedroom TV which we couldn’t find for 3 days. Then she moved on to all of the shoes in my closet. Now, it is her sippy cups. She takes each cup, one by one, and throws them down the stairs. Some stay close to the top, some around the middle, others make it all the way down to the bottom.

Seems entertaining right?

Not if you are doing laundry. Dirty clothes upstairs, laundry room downstairs. Anyone see where this is going?

As I was carrying an extremely full laundry basket down the stairs the other day I couldn’t see anything and guess what happens? I trip over one of those damn sippy cups. Luckily I was almost to the bottom and was able to catch myself against the wall so no major harm was done, other than my heart was racing and I believe I shouted a few unrepeatable words.

The lesson I learned from this event…check the stairs before I carry the laundry down.

What lessons have your children taught you lately?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JamieLynnDodd
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 04:20:01

    Ok, first of all… she is ADORABLE!! Second… I have to agree with her because that looks like the best game EVER!! Good luck with this one 😉

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Feb 10, 2011 @ 09:15:39

      She is adorable but the games she comes up with are just crazy. After she emptied the drawer of all the cups she decided to climb in the cup and jump. Luckily I stopped her before any damage was done.

      Reply

  2. Melanie J
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 09:28:59

    Love this….so hard to be mad at them when they are so damn cute! lol I can relate, I trip of things thrown out of the play pen all over the living room. I crunch cheerios wherever I happen to turn. I have a door to our lowe level….thank God!

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Feb 10, 2011 @ 10:09:39

      It is hard to be mad because not only are they cute but they also have so much fun. My daughter loves to throw her food around the house but thankfully I have 2 dogs who clean up right after her. A door to the lowel level would be nice.

      Reply

  3. Minivan Mama
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 07:27:42

    OK. I must tell you we have the same tile, same cabinets, same stove/fridge and our dog looks just alike. Weird! ; ) Very cute, love those little helpers!

    Reply

  4. mommysparadise
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 11:51:12

    Cute, cute, cute, could have been my little one with the board books he was throwing off the balcony. Secretly I went to get them but I told him the next day that the man who was cutting the grass in the neighbourhood took them. And this man is going to come back not only to cut the grass, but also to get more of his books. Until all the books were gone. The throwing stoped and whenever he was throwing things out of the house, I kept telling the story of the grass-cutter with the books and he stoped with whatever he was throwing. I think this is just a phase, a developmental stage, just keep your eyes open when you use the stairs.

    Reply

  5. Nikki
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 13:12:00

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tripped or stepped on toys, cups…etc . I am just glad it wasn’t on stairs lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
