Don’t ignore the mess

Normally, I don’t put things off. I like to get my stuff done as early as possible. Except for one task…picking up dog poop. I put this task off as long as I can which always turns out bad for me.

We have 2 big dogs (one black lab and the other a black lab mix). It was my husband’s idea initially for us to get a dog and he used to be responsible for yard clean up. Now, he doesn’t like the dogs and the task of taking care of the dogs in all ways has fallen to me.

I only remember the mess in the yard when I am out back and usually I find some reason to ignore the pile. Then one day every 3 months or so it gets so bad that I can’t ignore it any longer. So I grab the scooper and the five gallon bucket and I get to work.

This last Saturday I filled up 3 five gallon buckets. My record is 5 buckets (yes, that is 25 gallons of poops). Disgusting! No wonder we have no grass in our backyard and our kids only play on the back patio. It takes me at least an hour to clean the mess in the yard and I usually end up with at least 2 blisters on my hand from shoveling.

The point to this nasty tale is don’t put shit off because it doesn’t go away, the pile only grows larger (pun intended).

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh Ann
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 09:50:39

    Ha! I have a post in the works entitled “The Mine Field.”

    Reply

  2. Carly
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 10:33:42

    So funny. I put things off ALL of the time I am the worst. When we do get a dog I will not put that off for sure! 🙂

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 10:44:47

      If you are going to get a dog I suggest waiting until at least one of your kids is old enough to clean up the mess in the yard as one of their chores. That way you don’t have to do it. Thanks for the comment.

      Reply

  3. JamieLynnDodd
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 13:50:00

    LOL I love this one!! Very nice, real world, example of the perils of procrastination 😉

    I’m lucky because we have 3 dogs and 2 cats. My kids share the responsibilities of poop duty so I rarely have to deal with it.

    Reply

  4. Keri Schneider
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 14:56:50

    Hi Jessica!
    I am soooo bad at cleaning up the poop! I have two little shih tzus and I always hear the kids outside yelling “MOM! There’s poop!” It’s the worst…LOL!

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 16:29:37

      Two little dogs are probably easier to clean up after than two big dogs. How funny the kids yell when they are outside. You should train them to clean it. Thanks for the comment.

      Reply

  5. Melanie J
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 17:47:46

    Hey…visiting from the Blog Hop. Love this post, I can remember picking up poop days. We no longer have our dogs and I can honestly say that I dont miss their poop. Hope you will come visit me on both my blogs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
