Spare Time

As a mom have you ever had someone ask you “What do you do in your spare time?”

Whenever I am asked this question (which is usually at the beginning of each semester) I think to myself, what the hell is spare time? I barely have time to take a shower during the day let alone have spare time – I have growing to-do lists, screaming kids, a messy house, unpaid bills, and homework (I’m sure there is more but I can’t remember right now).

Spare time, yah right. What a dumb question. This must be an unmarried individual with no kids asking me this incredibly stupid question. My new response to this question is going to be: Do you have spare time? Oh you do, great, will you babysit my kids for the day?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Minivan Mama
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 05:58:38

    Spare time? What is that?

    Reply

  2. Single Life 2 Married Wife
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 06:52:14

    No kids for us yet and it seems like we don’t even have spare time.. I can only imagine…

    Reply

  3. Victoria
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 08:55:25

    I’m not sure I even know how to pronounce that. Can you sound it out for me?

    IF there is a minute between laundry and diapers, I like to spoil myself and floss! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Cara
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 10:47:55

    As the Mom of a 15 and 18 year old, I hate to say this but it doesn’t get any better. Well, in some ways it does get better…I don’t have to get up with them in the morning and help them get ready for school or make them breakfast…I just get up to make sure that they don’t fall back to sleep and miss day of school.
    Having older kids comes with a different realm of problems. You’ll learn that as they get older.
    You may not want to hear this because I didn’t want to hear it when my kids were younger but here it goes..”enjoy them while they are young because they grow up before you know it”
    *I’m ducking from any punches or pillows that are coming my way.*

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Feb 04, 2011 @ 11:58:51

      No punches or pillows at you I promise! I am doing my best to enjoy my time with my kids now while they are young and entertaining because I know soon they will stop wanting to spend time with me. One of the reasons I love my blog is I get to recount the experiences I have with my family so that as they grow and I can’t remember the stories anymore I can read my posts and smile. Thanks for the comment and for subscribing to my blog!

      Reply

  5. Jackie
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 16:49:33

    I used to have spare time…. that was when I didn’t have kids though. Now with 4 of them (15, 11, 8, 1) and a job I never seem to find those elusive few hours to myself and when I do get them I’m so overwhelmed with all the things I could be doing that I end up sitting on the couch watching TV!

    Reply

  6. Clayton Thomas
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 14:19:49

    Hey Jessica,

    Hope all is well. You honestly lost me after the word “time.” I haven’t had much of that since 2003.

    All the best,

    Clay

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 15:23:20

      Hi Clay, I’m going to guess that your oldest was born in 2003 since that is when you said you lost much of your time. All is well here and as I hope it is for you. Thanks for the comment. Jessica

      Reply

  7. Nota Supermom
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 14:20:30

    I had just enough time in the shower yesterday to shave a leg.

    Following you through Bloggy Moms.
    @notasupermom
    http://www.notasupermom.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
