Time to watch our language

After my husband’s horrible defeat at Trivial Pursuit last weekend he wanted some redemption so he challenged me to a game of Scrabble. We put the big kid to bed and set up the game.

As the game progressed (and I was winning) my husband got frustrated and yelled “sh*t.” Guess what the little one does? She repeats after him “sh*t.” Fantastic…husband gets a dirty look, him and little one start laughing.

Another moment of frustration from him when I use a spot on the board he wanted and he yells “f*ck” which of course the little one again repeats, but this time she says it over and over.  Another dirty look to husband along with some clean words of reprimand and he puts his hands over his mouth and lo and behold so does the little monster.

Speak no evil

We are now officially at the stage where we have to watch our language in front of the little one. She is repeating every word we say, and I do not want her running around talking like a sailor. I can see the future of her getting kicked out of preschool because she is teaching all of the other kids bad words. Then she gets suspended from school because of her filthy mouth and she will be at home with me ALL the time. No, I will not let this happen. I am going to take the time now to teach her good words so that she can go to preschool and school and not get sent home.

(Also, I won the game of Scrabble!)

I couldn’t leave out these pictures

Hear no evil

See no evil

Have you had experiences with your children and bad language? Please share.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gian Sorreta
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 10:57:45

    When I was little I would have the cleanest language at home and in the classroom, but once I got on that playground with no adults I was swearing like that proverbial sailor.

    I was sneaky like that 🙂

    Reply

  2. robyn
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 15:14:21

    Ha! I love the monkey pjs for these photos too! completely appropriate!

    Reply

  3. Suzanne Hammer
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 19:20:16

    Husband needs a time out and good talking to from his mother! And in the future when she gets sent home from school he can explain to the teacher where she learned all the sailor words.

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 20:20:19

      I will pass on the message to his mother. Daddy just laughs when she says these words because the consequences won’t affect him the same as they will affect me. He will be at work when she gets sent home but I’ll be the one at home with her.

      Reply

  4. JamieLynnDodd
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 13:45:14

    My husband and I cuss A LOT lol. Our 3 kids have grown up hearing it and don’t pay much attention anymore. Sure, we went though the stage where repeating it was funny but it eventually got old because we never made a big fuss. We didn’t make cussing seem “cool” or “rebellious”. As the kids got older, we explained to them that they aren’t “bad words” unless you use them to hurt someone. Otherwise they are simply “big people words” lol.
    Of course, now my oldest is 15, my son is 13, and my youngest is 11. My son is the one who slips up all the time and drops the f-bomb in the house. When that happens, I usually laugh, explain again that he’s not old enough to say that in my house and we go on with our day.

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 15:45:15

      “Big people words” that is a good description. As kids get older it is easier to explain to them what they can and cannot say. To a 1 year old, though, I can’t explain to her the difference and it doesn’t help that daddy and her big sister laugh when she says these words. Laughing only encourages the behavior.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
