Our weekend getaway

We went out of town this weekend to Lake Tahoe, CA with my husband’s family and I wanted to be able to write about the wonderful time we had and the importance of weekend getaways.  Unfortunately, that’s not what I will be writing about.

I did not have a wonderful time this weekend. Mostly, I was frustrated. The cabin was not child friendly at all (2 sets of stairs, sliding glass doors leading out to patios that no one would keep shut, kitchen cabinets with no locks, etc). No internet connection. There was lots of bickering, lots of sitting on the couch doing nothing, lots of tv watching. I forgot my camera and my cell phone charger.

In between my frustration there were some good parts though. We took the kids sledding in the snow, we played some games (I kicked my husband’s butt at Trivial Pursuit), and we got to see some family that live far away.

(Luckily I had my iPhone so I was able take a couple pics)

Littles in the snow

Both girls in snow

So, while I wanted this post to be different, I can only write about what I experienced. I think it is important to get out of town every once in a while with the kids, but try not to let the low points overwhelm the high points of the trip. As a parent try not to let the frustration stop you from enjoying the time with your children away from home. Get out there and experience the new sights and activities with your kids (and don’t forget your camera)!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Single Life 2 Married Wife
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 08:57:41

    Tahoe is a very beautiful place! Did you do any skiing?

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 09:10:11

      Tahoe is beautiful and it snowed on Saturday night so it was very pretty Sunday morning. No, I didn’t do any skiing or snowboarding. Snow sports are not for me. I prefer wakeboarding.

      Reply

  2. Victoria
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:50:08

    Great advice! Those moments with the kids go by way too fast. When all else fails, family games are the way to go. Plus, it always feels good to beat the husband 🙂

    Reply

  3. Minivan Mama
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 16:58:52

    It gets so frustrating when things don’t go as planned. It sounds like you pulled through and ended up having a good time.

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 17:13:11

      I am a control freak so when things don’t go as I had planned it can be frustrating for me. I am glad that I was able to find some good in the trip because it is nice to get out of the house for a weekend.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
