Mom Needs Help

I need help. Not a sentence that most moms would say (out loud, to others). We like to believe that we can do it all by ourselves. Reality check…we can’t and we shouldn’t have to.

I can clean the house, take care of the family, work, and do my homework. But then I don’t have any time for myself. I can take time for myself but then I won’t have time to clean the house. I can clean the house and take time for myself but then I can’t do my homework. Notice a pattern? I can’t do it all.

The only way that I have found to accomplish everything on my plate and still have some time for myself is to ask for help. I hired a housekeeper to clean the house. I ask my husband to give the baby a bath, cook dinner, run errands sometimes, or other tasks that I know he is capable of doing. I ask my mom to come up for a weekend and help take care of the girls.

It is not always easy for me to ask for help. I struggle sometimes admitting that I can’t do everything myself but I have found that when I ask for help I am less stressed. I am willing to make a trade, I will admit that I can’t do it all for less stress. Seems like a fair trade to me.

So, repeat after me… “I need help.” Now say this sentence to someone else along with whatever it is you want them to help you with. Try this once a day.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 12:08:38

    Isn’t that the truth? People think that because I’m a “stay at home” mom I have all the time in the world to do anything I want, but there is so much to do around the house that I barely have time for myself. Definitely think I’ll implement these three words in my everyday vocabulary.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Don’t those almonds look yummy?

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 16:21:07

      I know exactly how you feel about so much to do around the house and no time for myself. There are always so many to-do’s at home and not enough time to do them all. Ask for help, it will make it easier. Thanks for reading and for the comment.

      I bought almonds today to make the ones featured on your blog. So excited to try them.

      Reply

  2. JamieLynnDodd
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 16:39:07

    I think we all need to hear this on a regular basis. Sometimes we think we’ve learned, and the next thing we know, we’re drowning in chores, lists, appointments, bills, etc. I’ve been struggling with this a lot recently so it was a good reminder for me. Thanks 😀

    Reply

  3. Lory Manrique-Hyland
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 02:29:51

    Yes, know how you feel. At the moment I can’t afford the housekeeper. My solution: let the housework go. Husbands need to be less resentlful when wives ask for help.

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 09:29:41

      Before I had a housekeeper I would let the housework go quite often because it was at the bottom of the to do list. I agree that husbands do need to be less resentful when wives ask for help. Thanks for the comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
