Got Lemons? Make Cake

On Christmas a friend gave me a bag of lemons.  I put them in a bowl on the counter and have been staring at them ever since.  Today, I figured out what I was going to do with them – make zesty lemon pound cake! So, I got out the recipe, the ingredients, and suited up my helpers. 

As we were making the cake I started to think about all of the other “lemons” that life can give to moms and how we can deal with these sour problems to turn them into delicious cake instead. 

Some moms have crazy, unruly kids.  Instead of feeling overwhelmed that you can’t control them all the time, join in the fun every once in a while.  Your kids will only be young once and you should enjoy their crazy behaviors every so often.

Some moms have been laid off from their jobs and can’t find anything else right now.  Instead of feeling angry and discouraged take advantage of the time off work.  Spend more time with the kids, go back to school, start a hobby, or blog more.  Use your break from work to do something fun and exciting with your extra time because you might not get another chance.

Some moms are in school and wondering if they should continue their education because they are so needed at home.  Instead of feeling guilty about going to school enjoy your time in class away from the kids.  It might be the only quiet time you get.

Whatever challenges you have been given in life find a way to see the positive so that you can turn your lemons into cake (and don’t worry about the calories, just enjoy eating the cake).

Please share your comments.  I would love to hear what you think.

Recipe for Zesty Lemon Pound Cake

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Single Life 2 Married Wife
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 06:49:42

    A bag of lemons is a random gift ;)… But I do enjoy your post.. It’s the little things in life that matter! Make the most of them!

    Quote for the day! “”If you never get lost, you never get to a new place.”

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 07:57:59

      My friend has a lemon tree so she usually gives me lemons when she has them, this time it just happened to be on Christmas. Thanks for the comment and I like the quote for the day!

      Reply

  2. Victoria
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 08:08:47

    I’ve been dreading going back to school this semester but you’re right. I also keep saying I could use a few minutes to myself so why not look at it as my time to get away! Thanks for the positive outlook… I needed that today. Btw… Love the pic of the little helpers AND the cake!!!

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 08:20:42

      Sometimes school is such a conflict for me because I want to get my degree but my family wants me at home. Really though, if I didn’t go to school I would be at home with my kids 24 hours a day! I need some kind of break. The bad part of being at school is the minute I sit down in class I start yawning because I am not use to having time to sit and I realize how tired I am. I always wonder if my teachers think that I am bored with their lectures because I can’t stop yawning.

      Reply

  3. Laci
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 15:02:12

    What a great post! We all get hit with lemons in one form or another from time to time. It’s all about what we make of it. The lemon pound cake sounds so yummy!

    Reply

  4. lnmorrow
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 13:37:47

    Jessica,

    Love this post, so true. The recipe looks awesome, great way to use the lemons. Looks like your little helpers are quite happy to be in the kitchen with you.

    All the best,

    Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
