I’m Praying for Snow

I live in Reno, Nevada which is usually cold in the winter and we get occasional snow storms. For the last three days however it has been beautiful with a record breaking high of 67°F. The sun has been out and we can play outside. No jackets, snow boots, or layers of clothes to stay warm.

Downtown Reno

But, I’m praying for snow.

My mom lives in Sacramento, California which is a 2 hour drive from my house through high elevation mountains. My mom came up to Reno for the weekend to visit for my birthday. Her plan is to stay until Tuesday. Her car is 2 wheel drive and she doesn’t know how to drive in the snow.

Capital Building Sacramento

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for snow.

When my mom comes to stay, I get a break. I don’t have to bathe the little one, change diapers, or get her dressed. My kids practically ignore me because they are so excited to play with Grandma. Instead of the kids yelling “mama, mommy, mama, mommy” all day I hear “nana, grandma, nana, grandma.” I also get an adult to go run errands with me. When my mom is here I have time to work on projects I have been putting off, time to sit down and relax, and time to go see a movie with my husband.

So, I’m hoping for snow.

I want one of those big storms that dumps 2 to 3 feet of snow in Reno and 6 to 8 feet of snow in the mountains between Reno and Sacramento. I want a storm that closes the freeways and shuts down schools. I want a storm that makes it so my mom has to stay an extra couple of days because she can’t drive home.

My backyard last January (2010)

I’m wishing for snow.

I know it is selfish of me to want it to snow tomorrow when the weather has been so beautiful here but I don’t care. I just want it to snow so that I can have a couple extra days of help. Just a couple. Then it can be sunny and beautiful again.    

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rebecca b
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 13:55:41

    I hope you get your snow!

    Reply

  2. Minivan Mama
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 15:36:47

    Although I can’t say I would want any more snow this year, I totally understand wanting your mom to stay. I feel the same way any time she comes to visit.

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 11:12:33

      I only want snow in Reno and the mountains between here and Sac. I hope it is sunny where you are and the kids go back to school. Grandma visits are always the best and it is always so sad when she leaves.

      Reply

  3. Victoria
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 09:26:33

    Even though I miss her, I want you to get your snow cause you definitely deserve the break!

    Reply

  4. liz
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 12:19:06

    I can’t say that I’ve heard many people actually *hope* for snow, but if snow is what you want, I do hope you get it!

    Reply

  5. Gian Sorreta
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 13:45:50

    I live in Reno, and I hate shoveling snow :p

    Reply

  6. JamieLynnDodd
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 14:35:13

    If I could send you snow, I would. I hope you get to enjoy the visit though, even if it doesn’t snow. Have you considered stealing her keys? That would keep her there a few extra days as well 😉

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 15:34:03

      Lol! I did think about stealing her keys and disconnecting the battery in her car. That would have been funny. I could have blamed the missing keys on my little monster and the battery on some stranger who messed with her car in the middle of the night.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
