Don’t do this to your friends

Driving home from school one night last week I got a text from my husband “Don’t freak out, child is cleaning a big mess.”  “Okay” I respond, trying to figure out what happened but not brave enough to ask. I do some mental preparations as I continue my drive home telling myself that it will be okay, it can’t be that bad. Then I walk in the door.

The whole upstairs of my house is covered in GLITTER. It seriously looks like my husband threw a bachelor party with strippers in our house. Glitter is on the kitchen table, the counters, the tile, the carpet, the kids, on my husband, even the dogs were covered. And this was after the mess had been cleaned by the child and the husband. Unbelievable!!!

So, I’m going to rewind this story a little to trace the history of the glitter. For Christmas some friends bought our 7 year old a make your own jewelry kit. I’m totally okay with these presents as long as they are something she can do with little supervision and they are kept out of reach of the little one. Well, this particular kit had some bracelets that were to be decorated with glitter and glue and had how to instructions which meant a lot of mommy supervision. The child had been asking since Christmas to make these bracelets but I had not had time yet and she was NOT allowed to make them without me because I knew what would happen.

Long story short, I go to school, daddy goes downstairs with the little one, older one stays upstairs and makes glitter bracelets. The rest is history.

It has now been a week and my house is still covered in glitter. I have tried sweeping, vacuuming, mopping – nothing is working. I’m praying that the housekeepers will have better luck when they come next week. If the housekeepers can’t clean the glitter I’m going to have to call Ghostbusters because I really don’t know what else to do.

Photo Credit

Moral of the story: Please think about what you buy for other people’s children. Ask yourself these very important questions before you make any purchases:

  1. Would a parent have to supervise the use of this present at all times?
  2. Could this present result in a huge mess that a parent would have to clean up?

If the answer to either of these questions is yes, don’t buy the present. Find something else.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clayton Thomas
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 07:31:41

    While this is certainly not funny to you, I am only laughing because it isn’t my house! Don’t get me started with presents though. One day, I may have to write a blog on it. (Ha Ha) All the best!!!

    Clay

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 07:59:10

      Hi Clay, A week later it is now funny to me which is why it took me a while to write this blog. I hope you never have to deal with glitter all over your house. I’m sure I will be writing more blogs about presents but I look forward to reading from you as well if you ever write it.
      Jessica

      Reply

  2. Pamela Pinta
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 12:20:44

    I still have those little sparkles that people put in cards in my carpet must be a year now! Too funny! Truth be told, I am that Aunt that would buy that type of present. When my nephews were younger the louder and noisier the toy the better. Sisters are like that!

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 13:01:24

      I have a lot of family that likes to buy the loud, noisy toys for my kids which is fine as long with me as long as the kids like to play with them. I just don’t want the glitter! Personally, I spend a lot of time trying to find the right gift for kids because I always think would I want that toy in my house. Sometimes it takes me a long time to find gifts but that is a story for a different day. Thanks for reading my blog and for leaving a comment.
      Jessica

      Reply

  3. Minivan Mama
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 17:27:21

    Kids keep life interesting don’t they! Good luck with the glitter and let me know if you find a miracle way to clean it all up because I am sure it will happen at some point in my house.

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 20:50:45

      I really hope you never have to deal with the glitter problem. If I find a way to get it all out of the house I will definitely share. Thanks for reading and for the comment.
      Jessica

      Reply

  4. liz
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 19:23:49

    sometimes I want to punch people in the head when my girls open gifts and see what’s inside. WHAT ARE THEY THINKING?!?!

    I’m soooo sorry! Glitter is impossible to come out!

    Maybe paint the walls pink to match?? 🙂

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 20:56:48

      Hi Liz, I also have the same reaction sometimes to gifts. The sad part is my kids gets sooo excited about the presents and then I have to be the mean mom and tell them they can’t play with them until I have time to sit down and supervise which is not very often.

      Maybe I could do each wall in the house a different shade of pink to really add some fun with the glitter.

      Thanks for reading and for the comment.

      Jessica

      Reply

  5. veronica lee
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 06:40:19

    Hi! Stopping by from MBC. Great blog.
    Have a nice day!

    Reply

  6. otownmommy
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 13:45:10

    I think a great idea would be to do the craft at the person’s house that gave it to you. Shot gun glitter thier house and maybe they will think twice. All joking aside, I know it’s hard to chose gifts sometimes. I have probably been that gift giver a few years back before children. It looks cool on the box, and your so excited to give it, you just don’t know right? My problem is buying the perfect gift and then wanting it for Loveliness too. So I end up having to buy 2 gifts.
    Loved your blog, i will be signing up and look forward to more reads.
    good luck 🙂

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 15, 2011 @ 16:31:32

      That would be a great way to get people to think twice about what they buy. I spend a long, long time buying gifts for other people’s children, even longer for my own children. I often wander around the toy store staring at everything trying to decide what would be the best toy. Sometimes I just give up and leave with nothing so I have to go back later. Thanks for reading and for the comment.
      Jessica

      Reply

  7. Bee
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 18:41:04

    I feel for you! First of all, my daughter had similar bracelets last year. It was a nightmare when my kids (5-7 at the time) decided to make them without me. Also, we got my daughter this Tinkerbell toy where Tink has these wings that you can design with glue and glitter. OMG what a horrible mess to begin with and worse when it got knocked over and glitter went everywhere. It’s been months and it’s still embedded in her carpet. I still don’t know what I was thinking getting it for her. Maybe that’s because we hadn’t had the first glitter disaster yet. Good luck!

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 20:52:40

      I’m so sorry you had a similar situation with glitter. Maybe it should be banned from all households. I heard that blowing up a balloon and rubbing it over the glitter will work to clean it up fairly easily. Of course I heard this little tip after my glitter fiasco so I haven’t tried it but it came from a friend who used to work in a daycare. I hope that one day the glitter will come out of your daughter’s carpet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
