Mom’s Way of Using Time Wisely

In my opinion everyone has different takes on what it means to use time wisely.  For me as a mom, using my time wisely means knowing what I can do with my kids around and what I have to put off until they are asleep or out of the house with Daddy or some other brave soul who has offered to babysit.    

Little Monster asleep during dinner

It took me a while to figure out which activities I could do with the kids and which I could not.  At first I tried to do everything with the kids around and I found myself extremely frustrated and ready to pull my hair out.  I decided to try something different and I would wait until nap time to attempt certain tasks on my to-do list and my stress level started to decrease.  Through trial and error I have finally figured out the best uses of my time with and without the kids.

The list of things I can do with the kids includes: reading magazines, paying bills, quilting, easy homework assignments, folding laundry, and watching TV.  The list of things I cannot do with the kids includes: reading books that I actually want to enjoy, writing research papers, studying for tests, and making important phone calls. 

I try to plan my day around what is on my to-do list and my kids.  If my to-do list has laundry, 3 phone calls, studying for a test, and an easy homework assignment on it for the day then I will work on laundry and the easy homework assignment when the kids are awake.  During nap time I will make my phone calls and study for my test.  To me this is using my time wisely. 

As much as I would love to be able to take naps with the kids and relax the whole time they are out of the house I know that is not the best use of my time.  I have found that I am most productive with my time when the kids are not around so I use those rare moments to my advantage and get as many tasks on my to-do lists done as possible.  I encourage every mom to use their time wisely by figuring out what they can and cannot do with the kids around and scheduling their day accordingly. 

Please share your comments on using time wisely.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Hammer
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 22:57:32

    Really enjoy your blog and find your suggestions to be very practical and do-able. Love the pictures and stories of your “little monster” and think she is very cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
