Motivation to get out of bed

Yesterday I was so tired and lacking motivation to get out of bed, I decided to stay in bed instead of getting up early and taking a shower before my little monster woke up.  Boy, did I pay the price for that decision.  Instead of the nice, relaxing shower I usually take while she is sleeping I had a really hot and then really cold shower because she kept flushing the toilet on me.  She also managed to unroll the entire roll of toilet paper, empty the Kleenex box, get into my makeup, rearrange all of the beauty products under the bathroom sink, and get out every pair of shoes in my closet.  All in 10 minutes!!! 

As I was cleaning up the huge mess she made during my 10 minute shower I remembered what motivates me to get out of bed each day.  It is my desire to make my life as easy as possible. 

My motivation to make my life easier is the driving force behind the decisions I make on how to use my time.  I know that if I take a nap with my little one then I’ll have to deal with her while I try and accomplish my to-do list which is a pain in the butt.  I know that if I put off doing the dishes the sink will be full and it will be harder to clean the food off and therefore it will take me longer.  And I wake up early every morning, even though I am tired and not a morning person at all, because I don’t want to spend time cleaning the mess that I know will come if I shower when my little monster is awake. 

What motivates you to get out of bed each day?  Does motivation play a role in how you use your time?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Auntie Niece
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 09:51:10

    I love your reflections. As a mom of a junior college student, I encourage young mom’s to value the moments of unrolled toilet paper, skewed jewelry boxes and make-up cabinets. It’s just for a season and mirrors a child’s development. Toddlers toys become the teens and then adults creative genius!

    Reply

  2. Minivan Mama
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 15:29:12

    When the weather was a bit warmer, I made sure to go jogging in the morning. Such a great way to get the day started and keep me motivated. Since getting colder, it has been tougher to get out and run in the morning. I miss it like crazy!

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 09, 2011 @ 15:55:48

      Hi, when the weather is nice here I love to take the kids and dogs for a walk in the morning. It is a wonderful way to start the day out with sunshine and exercise. It is a bummer though in the winter when it is cold and we can’t go outside as much. I find that in the summer I am much more motivated to do things than I am in the winter. Thanks for the comment.
      Jessica

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
