Why is Time Management so Important for Busy Moms?

24 hours in a day is seriously not enough time to EVERYTHING done.  Taking care of the kids, the house, the pets, doing homework (mine and the kids), going to work, exercising, hobbies, keeping up on the gossip, etc….the list goes on and on.  Oh yeah, and don’t forget time to eat and sleep.  How are we supposed to get all of this done in 24 hours a day with only 7 days in a week? 

The answer is time management. 

As a mom to 2 crazy kids and 2 big dogs, a wife, a full time college student, and a small business owner time management is one of the greatest skills I possess (besides the ability to make it through each day without caffeine).  While I don’t always accomplish everything that I want to such as exercising and taking a nap (wishful thinking on the nap, I know) I am able to get my work done, stay ahead on my homework, take care of and spend time with the family, sort of keep the house clean, and find time for my hobbies.  I am only able to accomplish all of these things by effectively managing my time each day since I am unfortunately not able to add more hours to the day (sadly, God I am NOT). 

Time management is important for every busy mom because it allows us to use our time effectively and efficiently to make it through each day sanely and at the end of the night know that we were able to accomplish something before we close our eyes and dream of a nice, quiet, peaceful place with no kids or to do lists. 

Please share your thoughts on why time management is important to you. I would love to hear your thoughts on the subject.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vhartsock
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 09:37:03

    It is important as a mom to have a sense of accomplishment at the end of the day. The feeling that we have successfully taken care of our kids, our house, our jobs, and oh ya… Ourselves!

    Reply

  2. Minivan Mama
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 16:28:25

    Ask and you shall receive! Just posted today about struggling with the whole life balance thing…and then came across your site! Love it!

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 04, 2011 @ 20:52:20

      Welcome Minivana Mama! Thanks for reading my blog. Balance for moms is so hard but it is also so important. As moms we are responsible for everything and everyone which makes it difficult for us to find balance in our lives. I hope that I can help you with your struggle and I love to hear your feedback along the way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
