What is time management?

If someone asked me 2 weeks ago what is time management I would have said “managing your time – What a dumb question!! What else would it be?”  I never really thought about the definition of time management, I just knew that I was good at getting everything done.  When I started to think about writing this blog I thought that maybe something was missing from my definition of time management.  The definition of managing one’s time doesn’t explain the purpose or the reason for managing one’s time.  In order to get a better definition of the phrase time management I went to the best source ever – Google, and did a search for “What is time management?”  Within seconds I had pages and pages of information.  The 2 definitions that stood out the most were: “The management of time in order to make the most out of it” from wiktionary.org and “the development of a process and tools that help you be more productive and efficient” from timemanagementtools.net.  I put these two definitions to form a definition that I really thought answered the question of what is time management:

The management of time is the development of a process and tools that help you to be more productive and efficient in order to make the most out of your time.

I like this new definition because it provides me with a purpose for managing my time and it tells me that I will need to develop a process and tools in order to accomplish time management.  For those of you busy moms who have either never heard of time management before or who don’t even have time to think about time management I hope this definition has been helpful for you.  Stay tuned to my blog for more information on why time management is important for busy moms and for tips to help you develop processes and tools to be effective with managing your own time every day. 

Please share your thoughts on time management; I would love to hear what you think.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vhartsock
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 10:07:35

    How do you stay motivated to get everything done? As a busy mom I get tired so quickly and my good intentions seem to go right out the window in search for sleep.

    Reply

  2. Jessica D Torres
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 11:07:13

    Vhartsock, as mom to 3 children, one of them being only one month old it is understandable that you are tired all the time and can’t get things done. Lack of sleep creates a lack of motivation. This was very hard for me when my youngest was a newborn. I hope to provide you with tools along the way that you can use to make your life easier and help you get more out of your day. As for right now sleep when you can, let the small things go, and ask others for help. It will get easier as the baby gets older and you get more rest. Thanks for reading my blog and providing comments! Jessica

    Reply

  3. Clayton Thomas
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 19:09:55

    For me as a stay at home father, author of a parenting book, and writing a blog, I wasn’t aware I had time to manage. (Ha ha) My wife and I realized after having kids “your time is not your own.” Honestly, I do the best I can and fit in some sleep when possible.

    All the best,

    Clay
    http://www.tantrumstroublesandtreasures.blogspot.com
    twitter: @claylauren2001

    Reply

    • Jessica D Torres
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 21:32:41

      Hi Clay, Thank you for your comment. It is very true that after you have kids “your time is not your own” anymore however we should still work to find balance and do the things we as parents want to do rather than always what we have to do. Jessica

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,231 hits
